MozillaZine

Whitehart Development [FFX+TB]
Author Message
feather
Joined: 10 Jul 2004
PostPosted: Nov Fri 3rd 2006 9:55pm     
Hi DonGato

I'm trying to reduce the height of my tabs and I was fiddling around with userChrome.css. I added this piece of code as an experiment:

Code:

.tabbrowser-tab {height: 10px !important;}
.tabbrowser-arrowscrollbox,
.tabs-alltabs-stack {height: 10px !important;}


So that works in reducing the tab height ONLY when I am using FF's default theme.

When using Whitehart, the theme seems to be imposing a minimum height for the tabs and I can't reduce it. I can however make the tabs taller. Is there a reason why the code in userChrome.css doesn't work with the Whitehart theme?

TIA.
[Profile] [Pri. Msg.] [Quote]
DonGato
Joined: 01 Dec 2005
PostPosted: Nov Sat 4th 2006 1:27am     
You're breaking all the content in the tab strip by doing so (tab images: 16px, close button: 16px, all-tabs button: 16px, text: 11px).
I will recommend you to use another theme or rewrite all the tabs code (margins, padding, image sizes).
Yes I'm imposing a minimum height so no other code (like an extension) breaks the position and sizing of all the objects inside the tab strip.
You can rewrite the minimum height by using the "min-height: 10px !important;" directive for .tabbrowser-strip but then the content won't fit.
[Profile] [Pri. Msg.] [Quote]
feather
Joined: 10 Jul 2004
PostPosted: Nov Sat 4th 2006 1:29am     
Thanks for your reply mate. Nah that 10px was just experimenting 'cos I didn't seem to be making any noticeable changes to the tab heights, so I thought I'll try something drastic! So from your description, 16px sounds like the minimum that tab heights can go before it messes up the objects in the tab strip.
[Profile] [Pri. Msg.] [Quote]
feather
Joined: 10 Jul 2004
PostPosted: Nov Sat 4th 2006 1:47am     
Code:

.tabbrowser-tab {height: 10px !important;}
.tabbrowser-arrowscrollbox,
.tabs-alltabs-stack {height: 10px !important;}
.tabbrowser-strip {min-height: 10px !important;}


Would that be correct?
[Profile] [Pri. Msg.] [Quote]
DonGato
Joined: 01 Dec 2005
PostPosted: Nov Sat 4th 2006 2:14am     
Well, images have margins to their boundaries and they are used for the mouse over effects so it's sometimes more than that.
The better you can do is unzip the theme and mod it (global\browser.css and \xpi_skins\xpi_skins.css are the relevant files. The first one for generic tabs and the second to style them when using Tab Mix Plus.

This will reduce the tab strip, but of course the tabs inside will not fit:

.tabbrowser-strip {min-height: 10px !important; height: 10px !important;}
[Profile] [Pri. Msg.] [Quote]
feather
Joined: 10 Jul 2004
PostPosted: Nov Sat 4th 2006 2:33am     
Sorry I'm confused. Does the line:

.tabbrowser-strip {min-height: 10px !important; height: 10px !important;}

go into userChrome.css or browser.css or xpi_skins.css?
[Profile] [Pri. Msg.] [Quote]
DonGato
Joined: 01 Dec 2005
PostPosted: Nov Sat 4th 2006 2:44am     
You can use it in userChrome.css, and it will reduce the tab strip but not the tabs that will look cut. For customizing all the tab bar without breaking things you might need to 'play' with browser.css (if you don't use TMP) or xpi_skins.css (if you use TMP). And it's not easy as there are tons of elements in the tab strip with set sizes, margins and padding. It wasn't meant to be reduced from start and that's why I told you to use another theme. Razz

By the way, no comments about the Thunderbird theme? Sad
[Profile] [Pri. Msg.] [Quote]
feather
Joined: 10 Jul 2004
PostPosted: Nov Sat 4th 2006 2:45am     


Please bear with me. In the picture, where it says "Watched To ..." I'm trying to reduce the space above and below the text as much as possible, to make the tab narrower. So I've been fiddling around with the codes in userChrome.css, and now I'm confused as to where the code should be.

Code:
.tabbrowser-strip {min-height: 10px !important; height: 10px !important;}


goes into userChrome.css or browser.css or xpi_skins.css?
[Profile] [Pri. Msg.] [Quote]
DonGato
Joined: 01 Dec 2005
PostPosted: Nov Sat 4th 2006 2:56am     
In userChrome.css:

.tabbrowser-tab { height: 16px !important; min-height: 16px !important; }
.tabbrowser-strip { height: 22px !important; min-height: 20px !important; padding: 0px !important; border-bottom: 1px solid transparent !important; }

Then you have a distorted tab close button and a cut tabbar close button. Didn't test other broken things. All that for less than 10px real state. -_-;
[Profile] [Pri. Msg.] [Quote]
DonGato
Joined: 01 Dec 2005
PostPosted: Nov Sat 4th 2006 4:17pm     
Updated Whitehart TB to 0.0.3 ( http://dongato.dyndns.org/whitehart/whitehart-tb-0.0.3-tb.jar ).
[Profile] [Pri. Msg.] [Quote]
DonGato
Joined: 01 Dec 2005
PostPosted: Nov Mon 6th 2006 12:58pm     
Released version 2.1 for Firefox and 1.0 for Thunderbird (AMO will take some time). More info at first post.
[Profile] [Pri. Msg.] [Quote]
maxauthority
New Member
Joined: 07 Nov 2006
PostPosted: Nov Tue 7th 2006 3:22pm     
DonGato wrote:
In userChrome.css:

.tabbrowser-tab { height: 16px !important; min-height: 16px !important; }
.tabbrowser-strip { height: 22px !important; min-height: 20px !important; padding: 0px !important; border-bottom: 1px solid transparent !important; }

Then you have a distorted tab close button and a cut tabbar close button. Didn't test other broken things. All that for less than 10px real state. -_-;


Thanks a lot for the code snippet, I changed 16px to 20px, now that works perfectly, looks nice, but doesn't waste too much space.

BTW, I am writing an extension which uses a simple text box to receive user input:

<textbox class="plain" id="vim-commandbar" flex="1" hidden="false" type="timed" timeout="100" onkeypress="onCommandBarKeypress(event);" style="font-family: monospace"/>


When I use it in all other themes, the textbox is about 14px high, but with your theme it's at least 18px or more, is this identional?

(I got rid of the too height text box by using this:
#vim-commandbar { max-height: 14px !important; }
but still it would be fine if it worked without that.)

Apart from that, thanks so much, that theme rocks!
[Profile] [Pri. Msg.] [Quote]
DonGato
Joined: 01 Dec 2005
PostPosted: Nov Tue 7th 2006 4:35pm     
I think it was a fix for a place where they (Firefox) used a textbox instead of an input box and someone complained about the size.
Have to check it, maybe tomorrow.
[Profile] [Pri. Msg.] [Quote]
DonGato
Joined: 01 Dec 2005
PostPosted: Nov Thu 9th 2006 5:18am     
Yes, you're right... I don't know why I did that (introduced in RC1).
Will be fixed for next release.
[Profile] [Pri. Msg.] [Quote]
maxauthority
New Member
Joined: 07 Nov 2006
PostPosted: Nov Thu 9th 2006 5:33am     
DonGato wrote:
Yes, you're right... I don't know why I did that (introduced in RC1).
Will be fixed for next release.


Thanks a lot!
[Profile] [Pri. Msg.] [Quote]